Explore the people, events and new innovations making news at the Prairie State Energy Campus.

July 1, 2016


The Prairie State Generating Company (PSGC) is pleased to announce it has selected its 2016 scholar class. Jacob Miller, Patrick Snyders, Drew Conner, Jacob Slade and Hayden Snyders were awarded $1,000 scholarships at the annual scholarship banquet on June 29, 2016.

“As a company that is wholly owned by not-for-profit electric cooperatives and municipal electric utilities, Prairie State maintains the same principles set forth by its public power owners,” said Don Gaston, President and CEO of PSGC. “By reinvesting in the future and educational goals of local youth, this scholarship program is just one way we are providing benefit back to the communities surrounding our campus.”

The PSGC Scholarship Program has awarded $10,000 in scholarships since its inception in 2015, with the goal of encouraging the children and grandchildren of its more than 600 employees to pursue their career goals through higher education. All applicants are evaluated by an anonymous panel of judges based on academic achievement, leadership skills, community service, work ethic and involvement in extracurricular activities.


The 2016 PSGC Scholar Class is pictured above (from left to right:  Jacob Miller, Patrick Snyders, Drew Conner, Jacob Slade and Hayden Snyders)